top of page

How to find the dream PhD


Firstly, I want to start by saying I don't believe there is really such a thing as the perfect PhD. But I do believe that there are certain steps one needs to take before applying to a position, and it is more than just the institution and the project.


It is so important to pick a PhD that aligns with your research interests, your expectations in terms of work load, work life balance, and also accessibility to things outside your PhD, like hobbies and seeing friends and family.


Here is my quick 6 tips on picking the perfect PhD for you.


Step 1: Make sure its the right choice for you

Is academia the right path for you? What is it you want to achieve in the next 3-5 years and what are your reasons for doing a PhD as opposed to a job in industry? Have you thought about working in industry first to gain more skills and see if there are options for you there? I worked 2 years after completing my masters degree and although I was pretty sure I wanted to stay in academia, that time was invaluable in terms of helping me make decisions on what area of research I wanted to go into, and also has given me the motivation to stick through my PhD, because I knew it was something I wanted to do. There are many amazing paths you can go down, including research, that doesn't require doing a PhD.


Step 2: Choose your research area/topic

I am one of those people who has so many interests in the world, especially with physics, there are so many interesting and important topics to look into. I was so lost on which one I wanted to dedicate my career to. I spent 2 years trying to figure out what field I wanted to go into. I went from considering high energy particle physics to climate science to cosmology and astrophysics. It is also important to realise that, although a PhD is a great way to kick start your career, it doesn't have to be what you stay in throughout. My advice is pick something that calls to you and inspires you. A PhD is no easy feat, and you're going to need your 'why' to get you through when times are tough.


Step 3: Start looking for projects

This is the longest step. Now you know you want to do a PhD and you have chosen your subject area, you need to start looking for potential universities, departments, supervisors and projects that suit your research interests. My advice is to look at institutions you have heard of, look at their departmental websites, or start by looking at the top universities for your research area. You could also use a website such as 'Find A PhD' or if you are astronomy specific, I found a lot of my opportunities on the AAS Job Registry.


Step 4: Get in touch with potential supervisors

This is probably the most important step. The relationship with your supervisor is so important. You want someone who matches your vibe in terms of energy, personality, research interests and their goals, expectations of you and your work ethic. For example, if they expect you in at 7am and to leave at 10pm, and you're more of a 9-5 gal, thats probably not going to work. Also ask them questions on things that are important to you, like whats the university culture like? Are there socials, do they like the idea of you travelling throughout your PhD etc. Try to organise zoom calls with potential supervisors before you consider applying. Once you get in touch and like their vibe, I would also reach out to their current students.


Step 5: Compare different options

Once you have found some options, you need to look into the different universities, and compare what they offer PhD students, meanwhile considering and weighing up the location, your supervisor, life style and other factors that are important to you. This step took me a very long time and cost a lot of tears when I had multiple offers in very different places. But I know I made the right choice in the long term because I really thought about what mattered to me the most before applying.


Step 6: Send off your application!

Finally, now you have some projects in mind and you feel they are good options for you, its time to start writing up your cover letters, ask for reference letters and building your application! More tips on this later.



If you liked this post, please share on social media or repost! Thank you!

161 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

One year into my PhD, here's what I learned

I'm just over one year into my PhD and here are some of the key things I've learned. 1. It's a marathon, not a sprint. I started this PhD knowing that over-working is not going to be sustainable. I ov

bottom of page